USA > West Coast Tours > California Tours > San Francisco, CA

View Available Dates

Highlights:

Visit Yellowstone, Grand Teton, Jackson, Yellowstone Bear World, Air Museum, Sacramento, Salt Lake City, Bryce Canyon, Zion Canyon, Antelope Canyon, Lake Powell, Horse Shoe Bend, Grand Canyon south rim or west rim.

Special Remarks:

  • 12 national, State and private parks
  • Two nights in Las Vegas and optional Grand Canyon West rim or south rim
  • 10 plus years experienced and knowledgeable English-speaking tour guides
  • 15 million tour bus insurance, the highest in the industry

Tour Itinerary

  • Day 1
    San Francisco - Sacramento - Elko (429 miles)
  • Day 2
    Elko - West Yellowstone (354 miles)
  • Day 3
    Yellowstone National Park - Grand Teton - Jackson Hole - Pocatello (192 miles)
  • Day 4
    Pocatello - Salt Lake City - Bryce Canyon National Park (416 miles)
  • Day 5
    Bryce Canyon National Park - Lower Antelope Canyon - Page - Las Vegas (345 miles)
  • Day 6
    Option 1: Las Vegas - Grand Canyon South Rim - Las Vegas (541 miles)Option 2: Grand Canyon West Rim (541 miles)
  • Day 7
    Las Vegas - San Francisco (568 miles)
  • Note: When West Yellowstone Hotels cannot be confirmed, hotels in Jackson will be used. Depending on hotel location, the sequence of the tour might be altered.
View Itinerary Details
  • Departure & Return
  • Inclusions & Exclusions
  • Additional Notes
  • Policies
  • Customer Reviews (11)

Day 1 San Francisco - Sacramento - Elko (429 miles)

Today we will visit the California State Capital in Sacramento. Sacramento was at the heart of the gold rush, Pony Express and first continental railroad. In the afternoon we will head through the famous Donner Pass and enter Nevada. Overnight stay in Elko.

Day 2 Elko - West Yellowstone (354 miles)

Today, we will travel along the Wasatch Mountains and pass through land of scorched rocks to go to Yellowstone National Park.

Day 3 Yellowstone National Park - Grand Teton - Jackson Hole - Pocatello (192 miles)

Today, we will visit Yellowstone National Park, where we will see attractions like the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone, Fountain Paint Pot Geyser Basin, Midway Geyser Basin, and the Old Faithful. We will also get the chance to see the various species of wildlife that inhabit the park, including bison, elk, and bears. Then, we will continue to Grand Teton National Park. Next we will tour Jackson Hole. We will head for Pocatello, ID for the night.

Day 4 Pocatello - Salt Lake City - Bryce Canyon National Park (416 miles)

Upon arrival in Salt Lake City we will visit Temple Square. Later in the afternoon, we will head to Bryce Canyon National Park. We will overnight stay in Bryce Canyon.

Day 5 Bryce Canyon National Park - Lower Antelope Canyon - Page - Las Vegas (345 miles)

In the morning, we will visit Lower Antelope Canyon, then hike to Horseshoe Bend. In the evening, we will arrive in Las Vegas. Guests can choose many restaurants to eat at or stop by one of the famous casinos on the Las Vegas Strip.

Day 6 Tour options : Grand Canyon South Rim or West Rim

Option 1: Las Vegas - Grand Canyon South Rim - Las Vegas (541 miles)

Option 2: Grand Canyon West Rim (541 miles)

Day 7 Las Vegas - San Francisco (568 miles)

In the morning we will drive back to San Francisco. On the way we will see the world's first solar power plant. After crossing the Mojave Desert, we will see the world's longest runway at Edwards Air Force Base. Next, we will pass by the Tehachapi mountain range and see California's largest wind power generating operation. In the afternoon, we will travel through the fertile Central Valley. We will drop off at the Bay Area around 7:00pm.
** Please arrange your air-ticket departure from San Francisco (SFO) airport after 10:30pm.
- You can self dismiss at Las Vegas today, hotel check out time is 11 am.
- For tour passengers who would like to have a transfer service from Las Vegas to Los Angeles, service fee is $35 per person.
Note: When West Yellowstone Hotels cannot be confirmed, hotels in Jackson will be used. Depending on hotel location, the sequence of the tour might be altered.

*Return time is an estimate and varies based on traffic and weather conditions.

Inclusions

Exclusions

Confirmation

Redemption

Terms & Condition

I recommend this tour!

Posted by: Monica on 2018-07-25

I can definitely see how this tour can work out for people who are visiting from other countries, or for the couples with no kids. It gives an amazing overview of what some American states are like, and most importantly - the most beautiful national parks. It's great that you don't have to worry about booking 6 nights at different motels, and worry about renting a car and driving all day by yourself in the middle of nowhere. The tour guide, Bruce, was very helpful and knowledgeable. However, I'm not sure if that's the tour you want to take with the small kids. Out of the 7 days, 3 days are devoted to driving pretty much 10-12 hours a day, stopping at local gas stations for some fast food every 2-3 hours, with no sightseeing. I found it very devastating to travel with the 3 year old and 1 year old. There were also other, bigger, kids on the bus, and the trip looked much smoother for them because they spend pretty much the entire time using iPad. Some recommendations/notes: 1. Would be super nice if the bus was cleaned (garbage, floors) after every day of traveling. It was cleaned just once, and starting the day off with a mess is not the most pleasant experience, especially taken that the tips for the tour guide/bus driver are 6$ per day per person. 2. The tour is very rushed. I wish at least for the most famous national parks (Zion, Yellowstone) we had a whole day of walking, maybe having a picnic, etc. I took the tour mostly to see Zion park, and we spent there literally 1.5 hours max, and just 3 stops (two 15-minute each, and one for 30 min). I wish I could spend more time walking around. Same for Bryce Canyon. We were driving the whole day (!!!) just to have a 1 hour hike around the canyon. Perhaps, some national parks can be skipped, and more attention can be devoted to the biggest parks. Also, when looking at the schedule for each day, you might have an impression that your stop in Sacramento, for example, will allow you to at least look around and do some sightseeing. It was only 30 min, however, enough to get a coffee in the nearest Starbucks and use a restroom. 3. The time when we had to be on the bus was 6:30AM, and one day - 4:30AM. This hardly feels like a relaxing vacation, especially if you are traveling with the kids as their sleep is disturbed. 4. Almost no on-bus entertainment- we watched 3 movies in 7 days, and I feel like it doesn't cost much to watch 3 movies a day, taken how long and boring the drive is. But as I said, this tour might be a perfect match for some people, as it's probably nice to spend couple days napping on the bus, reading a book or watching videos while seeing the beauty of the American states.

I recommend this tour!

Posted by: Aswathy on 2017-09-19

We are back home after a fantastic tour with a fantastic guide and driver. This is my third trip with TakeTours and that says it all! This is the longest trip I have taken and I had my parents with me. I was little skeptical about how they would feel with the long duration of the trip. But they totally enjoyed the trip. Sofiya was our tour guide for all the seven days. She is a friendly, well travelled, knowledgeable, thoughtful, fun loving and an entertaining guide. She took good care of us and happily attended the special needs of her guests. She was always available to answer our questions and helped us to choose the optional activities. Her expert suggestions helped us a lot of save time. Her explanations are engaging and clear. Our driver, Joe was a total entertainer. His efficient driving made us feel the 3000+ miles we covered a breeze. The bus was clean and has charging points. The accommodations were decent and comfortable. Every food stops had multiple options which offers something for everybody. My two cents to those who are planning to take the tour - to cover so much without feeling rushed, in the little time we have, please please be on time. Also if in doubt, ask; esp about the reporting time. We had to cancel our Vegas night tour as some ppl didn't return on time and by the time we hit Vegas, the driver was out of hours.

I recommend this tour!

Posted by: Michael on 2014-08-27

This 3400-mile round trip tour was long and tiring, but our excellent tour guide, Bruce Cheng, made it very pleasant and easier for us. There are several early start hours required to adequately cover all of the diverse sites, but our driver, Joe, made it safe and comfortable. For those who like Chinese buffets, we had 6 in 4 states. In summary, it was a good experience and worth the long hours to see all of the sites, as advertised.

I recommend this tour!

Posted by: Yulia on 2013-09-09

I bought this tour for my elderly mother. She is a native Russian speaker, but after living in the United States for 20 years she understands English fairly well when spoken to clearly. Generally she was quite exhilarated over this tour and said she would do it again with this company. She felt that the itinerary was fantastic! She loved the places visited and was quite happy with the bus and accommodations. The only major complaint she had was that the tour guide Bruce was very deceiving and greedy when it came to the cost of all additional optional attractions. For example, the general cost of the entry to the Yellowstone Park is $12 if entering by foot, and $10 for Senior Lifetime pass. The motorcoach (bus) pays a flat fee of $300 to enter the park. With 47 passengers on board of the bus the true cost of entry per person would have been $6. Nonetheless every person had to pay $14 to the tour guide regardless of age. At the end of the tour, everyone was offered to see the Cirque du Soleil Show KA in Las Vegas. The tickets were offered at a price point of $150 per person i.e. $143 + fees. Bruce went to buy them on the day of the performance after collecting money from people who wanted to attend. While strolling down the street before the show, my mother stumbled upon a ticket booth that was selling the same day tickets for the same show at 25% discount. So a $143 ticket would have cost her $107 + $7 processing fee totaling $114. That’s a $36 difference! When Bruce brought the tickets the price and fees were scratched off so that people could not see the actual price he paid for them, but it was quite obvious that he made some extra money by overcharging unassuming tourists in his group. And these are only two examples. My mother felt that she was tricked and deceived and was offended by this unfair practice especially that at the end of the tour everyone was expected to lay out an additional $6 per day for the tips totaling $42 per tour per person. With 47 people on board it adds up to $2,000 for the guide and the driver to share in tips. Why being greedy? Otherwise, my mother felt the tour was great and worth every penny! She also wished they spent a bit more time in Sacramento.

I recommend this tour!

Posted by: Yaqi on 2013-09-08

Great trip! Our tour guide Charlie is very professional. He explained everything in good detail and arranged everything well. The itinerary was very well-arranged. Would definitely recommend the trip!

I recommend this tour!

Posted by: Frank on 2013-09-08

Me and my cousin who was visiting from overseas took this tour not knowing what to expect and if these positive reviews were even real. After this trip, I can attest that the reviews are much of what I experienced. Raymond, our tour guide and Gonzalo, our driver were dynamic duos making our tour pleasant as possible with their humor and knowledge of the areas we covered. And boy did we cover lots of territory in a week span. Well worth your small investment compared to other tour companies that I've looked into which asked for more with less places visited. The lodging wasn't the best, but you don't want to spend much time in your room while travelling to so many places with tight timeline, a place to sleep and shower is all you need in this type of packaged tour. The bus for the most part was a comfortable ride, good leg room, shoulder space is tight when sitting next to grown man, nice to have a charger for phones by each seat, but it charges way too slowly and actually drains when you're charging and using it at the same time. Using the restroom on the bus was discouraged, but we made enough frequent stops which was on the average every 2 hours, so as long as you manage your fluid intake, then it shouldn't be a problem. Since most of the passengers were Chinese, the meal stops were at Chinese buffets at reasonable prices. But you have a choice of eating at other Non-Chinese establishments including common fast food chains nearby. Raymond our tour guide commented in both Chinese and English. We met some good people and made friends while on this tour. We took a ton of pictures that will surely to leave lasting memories. I recommend this tour to anyone who isn't sure what to expect and have doubts like me before I went on this trip. A solid 4 star experience!

I recommend this tour!

Posted by: sunil on 2013-09-04

Initially when, I booked the Tour, I was scared & not sure how the tour will be. I was even scared till the time I met Bruce Chang our Tour Guide, I must say Bruce is a highly skilled Professional Tour Guide, He made the Tour Interesting and funny. Everything was superbly organised and we did not even have to wait for Room Keys. Hotel was OK and the tour was professionally organised. I strongly recommended to my friends to take this tour. I am going to take this tour again . Awesome Job take Tour Team. Keep going...

I recommend this tour!

Posted by: Supriya on 2013-08-01

This was our first time on a bus tour. I took this tour with my 13 yo son. The itinerary was just adequate. We got enough time at places as I treated this tour as a touch point for all that there was to see. If I liked a particular place, I decided to visit leisurely later. Good accommodation overall. Food - Stopped at mostly Chinese buffets which we grew wary of. But there were other options close-by. Many times fast food but one good part was we also stopped close to super markets or grocery stores from where we picked up fruits and veggies to snack on during the day. Most days we started early. Places by themselves were breathtakingly beautiful. The tour was well-organized and the driver, Gonzalo and our guide Simon were great too. They were friendly, courteous and knew their way around well. I wish there would equal commentary in English as there was in Chinese. Pros: - Did not have to drive the almost 3500 miles myself. - The guide and driver were great at their job and safe. - We made adequate and frequent stops - every 2 - 2&1/2 hours for bio break and to stretch. - We got a good tour of Las Vegas by night. - Simon reminded us every morning to check we got all our belongings - especially valuables like earrings, chains/pendants, cellphones, etc. - Made the hotel stays comfortable by picking up our room keys and giving us pointers to what to explore where. - Clincher for me personally was that the pick up point was a walking distance from my house. I did not need a friend or somebody to drop me with my luggage. - They made arrangements for separate beds for me and my son. I wasn't sure this was going to happen when I had chosen one room. - The bus had charging points at every seat so we could charge our phones, tablets, etc. while in the bus. - We stopped at grocery stores where we could stock up on fresh fruit and healthy snacks every day. Cons: - The bus could have been a bit more comfortable. It took us time to get used to it. For tall people, it could be a challenge as there isn't a lot of leg room. - Motel-like place to stay at W. Yellowstone. - Less English commentary. - More geared towards Chinese clientele. But all in all, a great experience and I loved the fact that we covered a lot of ground in 7 days. I will do this or a similar tour again. Highly recommended especially if you have never seen these places. It can't get better than this for this price. Thank you, every one, who made this possible and an enjoyable experience!

I recommend this tour!

Posted by: Nataly on 2013-07-06

I looked for many tours, but this company was the cheapest and proposed everything what I wanted to see in one trip for 7 days. Before trip I was a little worried, and even didn't expect such good quality for the money. At the end I am fully satisfied - it was very good tour. Everything was very well organized, strictly to schedule. No any problems. Only good words about our driver Gonsalo and group guide Simon. They made their things the best, and both are fun and cool guys. All information was provided by guide in English as well as in Chinese Tour includes a lot of places for a short period, so we have a little time to see them, not more than 1 - 1,5 hrs for each. But I would say it was just enough to enjoy. Hotels were very nice and clean, with pools, in all of them they provide fridge, microwave and coffeemaker, what is very useful. Only be ready, the hotel in Las Vegas has no those useful things, and it makes not very nice expressions about this hotel. Food was not included, but guide recommend us very good restaurants, mainly Chinese buffets. We are Europeans, but enjoyed Chinese food very much – great choices, good quality and price!!! With no doubt, would recommend this tour and highly-professional company to my friends, and, probably, will go with them somewhere again.

 

Posted by: tiziana on 2012-08-08

Tour bellissimo, posti fantastici lo consiglio a tutti ! MERAVIGLIOSO ! Un complimento anche alla guida Bruce , bravissimo, ci ha fatto molto divertire !

See More